My name was taken from me.

80 Night Elf Rogue
I had a character on Destromath that I have had since 2 weeks after the game came out in 2004 named Nyx. I had to do a server transfer for personal reasons and OF COURSE I could not keep that name on the new server. I LOVE that name, so I made a level 1 charachter with the intention that I could come back and level it again later. I had to stop playing because I didn't have a job and had to move to another state. I started playing again recently and today I went back to Destromath so I could level that charachter, only to find that the character is now named Nyxxyz and that the name is now taken by someone else.

This is a name that I played with for 5 years. It's not like this is some random name that I just want to hold on to because I "might" play it some day. This is a name that I knew I would play with again. I am pretty upset that someone can take my name because I had to stop playing because I had to move and had no money.

On top of this, I didn't get an email saying that a change had been made to my account. When a player who has an offensive name get changed, they at least get the courtesy of an email stating that a change has been made to their account.

I have put in a ticket in game and I sent an email to the account management team. I want this name back. It shouldn't have been taken in the first place with out my permission. What else can I do?

*Edited for spelling only.
Edited by Nyxey on 11/19/2010 12:43 AM PST
Reply Quote
80 Blood Elf Priest
it sounds like you've already done everything needed to try and get some answers about your issue your having.

From what I understand, if an account goes inactive for a certain amount of time players can open tickets to see if a name can be obtained from another player. Same with guild leadership. If a GM has been inactive for a certain amount of time a player can open a ticket and request the leadership be switched to another player.

I may be wrong though.