What spec should a new player level up as?

85 Troll Shaman
Hello druid friends, I have talked my friend into playing this game. He is interested in playing a druid. I am not an expert on how to play a druid, by any means. Thus, I come to the druid forums for some friendly advice. My friend is intelligent but this will be his first MMORPG (the only games he has played before in the past are games like Dance Dance Revolution, Guitar Hero, and basically any game made in between the 80's, to late 90's.) He's not a gamer by any means necessary.

He asked me what spec he should be playing as he's leveling, and I'm completely clueless as to what I should tell him. I'd hate to give him the wrong advice. I explained to him the druid abilities, and what each spec does at end game, and he was very interested in playing a druid. He liked the ability to switch between every role. He's more-so interested in playing as a feral-tank or feral-dps on the way up to 80.

I will not be leveling with him, as he wants to experience the game 1-80 by himself, without a veteran (if I can call myself that) catering to all his needs. I want to at least help him start out. I would like to give him an idea of how to spec up to 80, and what spec out of the two: feral tank or feral dps would be best for him. Remember, he has never played an MMORPG before, and thus he MIGHT not be very good. I don't know how well he'd do as a tank, but I figured instant queues might be a good thing for him.

So druid friends, what would you suggest to YOUR friend if he was interested in starting up his first MMORPG as a druid? Feral DPS or Feral tank? With that said, what would be a good leveling spec for either of those? Please give me your true opinion, I hope that I am not teased or what have you. I'd really appreciate your help, and so would my friend!

Thanks! <3
Reply Quote
85 Troll Shaman