Priest: Holy or Disc

18 Undead Priest
Ello, im new to healing and to priests, and i want to go healing spec all the way to 80, can someone please explain in great detail the pro's, con's and difrences between using holy or disc to heal?
Reply Quote
85 Goblin Priest
Disc is easy sauce for lower heals. Your shield itself should keep people topped off most of the time. You can use Heal if you ever need to top DPS off. If your leveling through LFD, beware, it'll make you really cynical.
Reply Quote
87 Blood Elf Priest
Holy has more multi-target burst options, and holy word is fun, although you won't get the chakra synergy till much much later. The downside is that the mana will be tighter. Disc is much simpler while leveling, and theoretically speaking should be faster (less downtime, better smite etc). Both will be significantly slower killing mobs in the world at large compared to shadow however, and I'd recommend dual spec if you're committed to doing dungeons with a heal-spec.
Reply Quote
91 Goblin Priest
I would suggest you Disc. I lvled Disc, and I can easily heal throught LFG and raid in Disc. Holy is great but you must play it well to enjoy it. Disc priest are really loved for Lich King fight for example
Reply Quote
80 Gnome Warrior
Vis
Penance shoots spinning bolts of awesome into people to heal them. Go disc.
Reply Quote
80 Blood Elf Priest
@Jajie
That is a good way to separate the two. Holy is focused on renew and their mastery adds a heal over time to it.

Discipline is all about the shields. (To me anyway, I'm holy.) Their mastery buffs their shields.

So if you're having a hard time deciding on which you would like to level; think of it like this: With discipline you ensure that your party takes a little damage as possible before you have to heal. With holy you provide enough heal over time effects (or HoTs) that you can heal through the damage. Just be warned though, holy will drain your mana if you are not careful.