New paladin holy/ret

72 Tauren Druid
Hey guys, i have a few questions.

Im a total paladin newb, the farthest ive gotten is with a level 37 paladin and it was before 4.0.1.

So now i want to create a new one, but this time, i want it to be ret/holy dual speced. I like the idea of dpsing as ret and such but also as healing as holy. And it also helps that ive heard really good things about holy pvp.

How are ret dps looking atm? How about in pvp? What are these wings i hear people talk about?

What about holy, do they have any offensive abilities that are useful in pvp? How good are they of a healers in instances.

And if possible, a good spec for both ret and holy would be appriciated! Thanks
Reply Quote
55 Undead Death Knight
Hey guys, i have a few questions.

Im a total paladin newb, the farthest ive gotten is with a level 37 paladin and it was before 4.0.1.

So now i want to create a new one, but this time, i want it to be ret/holy dual speced. I like the idea of dpsing as ret and such but also as healing as holy. And it also helps that ive heard really good things about holy pvp.

How are ret dps looking atm? How about in pvp? What are these wings i hear people talk about?

There are alot of people who complain about ret dps. It is fine, Blizzard are having many more issues with other classes. A good ret paladin could perform fine (e.g. Lore from tankspot is a retribution paladin) so dismiss any claims of being underpowered or overpowered on the forums, they are just bad paladins trying to make blizzard help them learn to play. In PvP I haven't experienced ret, best leave that to someone else or google it. From the sounds of it, they are more appealing than they were in WoTLK.

The wings you hear about are Avenging Wrath: http://www.wowhead.com/spell=31884/avenging-wrath. It is an ability that increases healing and damage by 20% for a limited amount of time. The graphic that comes with it is that your paladin sprouts wings for this time period.