Avoiding Damage as a Druid Healer

100 Tauren Druid
Hi all,

I've been healing heroics now on my level 80 druid for a few months now. I still find myself a bit overwhelmed by what's happening at times, and if the group goes down, half the time it's because I'm taking damage, I have a mob on me, or am standing in goo and don't realize it. Especially if I have an add on me, I go down pretty fast, but get annoyed because if I heal myself it adds to my agro. Granted some of the times, this is avoidable, or because I have tunnel vision, but sometimes I just feel squishy.

So I thought I'd poke around here to see how you work around the squish. As a Druid, what tactics do you use to "push through it" or get better control of a hectic situation? Since the grass is always greener on the other side, I see priests with low-agro shields and fade, paladins with good mitigation and bubbles, and shamans with taunting/shielding totems and better mitigation. Barkskin is my friend, but it doesn't seem all that potent, and I recently just talented "Nature's Ward", hoping that will help some. I've also thought more about using Instant Entangling Roots, or Nature's Grasp, as well as Cower in Cat Form, but those seem a bit more difficult becuase I give up a glyph, have to be hit, or have to have a target selected to make it work.

Thanks for the advice, it's greatly appreciated. :)
Reply Quote
100 Blood Elf Priest
If you get agro run to the tank so he can taunt the mob off you. Its amazing how many healer just stand there or run away from the tank.
Edited by Rowit on 12/1/2010 1:02 PM PST
Reply Quote
80 Tauren Druid
My usual reaction is to pop barkskin if the dmg is heavy enough and heal through it, but you have a few options:

1. Run to the tank while casting instants.
2. Root the mob using Nature's Grasp or Insta Roots if you have the glyph.
3. Shift to bear and start tanking!
4. Shift to cat and sprint.
5. Shift into a tree and heal the crap outta everything.
Reply Quote