Chakra Change - A priest's plea!

90 Human Priest
QQ

I'm a veteran healer, been around since WoW launch. I'm well aware of the intended mana changes and welcome them. Regarding the priest Holy tree, I love the changes, but in practice I find keeping Chakra going a pain in the rear even with the 30 second CD.

Frankly, Holy has always had a big bag of tricks and with 4.0 and Cata the amount of abilities and CDs has gone up by more than a fair amount. I'm ok with everything, save for the current method of Chakra juggling. It's not impossible, I'm in no way implying that, but it's just too tedious.

Please please please consider making it a toggle aura/aspect like pallies and hunters have. Keep a 30 second internal CD on swapping states, but let us chose and maintain the state easier than this.

/beg

Reply Quote
85 Tauren Priest
I think Chakra isn't a stance because they don't want you to be entitled to whatever state you choose. If it's just a one-time cooldown, then there's little to no opportunity to make the wrong choice. With having to repeatedly expend the cooldown, you have multiple instances per fight (about every 30-45 seconds) to re-assess the fight and respecialize (or potentially mis-specialize).
Reply Quote
Chakra is pretty easy to keep up in either state, honestly.

But I still think it would be better if it were a aura-like spell you could toggle between. In my opinion, Chakra should be something that lets you react to whatever situation you need. If you're, say, raid heals, and the tank healer dies, you should be able to instantly swap states to Serenity, keep the tank alive long enough for the tank healer to get a combat rez, and then get back to your AoE state before the boss does his uber mega AoE of death. If you were to try that with the current Chakra, you go "Ok, I got the tank for now! Ok, tank healer's back up, I have just enough to switch back to Sanctuary Chakra before the boss casts his AoE....crap".