How do you get really good at healing?

34 Human Priest
I've been playing WOW for about 1 1/2 years now, and I find that I really gravitate towards playing pallys and priests. I know all healers have had their share of brain farts while in an instance or raid, but it seems like there are plenty of healers out there who run perfect instance after instance( at least that's what I'm told by the tank whom I just let die for the third or fourth time). :) This seems to have gotten worse since dungeon finder came into being... at least your guildies will use somewhat temperate language when telling you how utterly useless you are... strangers from different servers usually don't observe this nicety.

So after scouring the forums, and not finding what I was looking for, I am just gonna ask... how does one get good at healing? I used to use healbot, but for some reason I can't get it to load anymore... I currently use healium... I am currently playing a lvl 34 human holy priest, and am trying to gear for max mana and mana regeneration. I concentrate on trying to keep the tank alive, but should i do this to the point of letting other party members croak? And in the interest of preserving mana, when should I start healing... 90%? 80%? Lower?

I also seem to draw a lot of aggro and wind up dying a lot as well... sometimes it seems that I can die going into the Auction House...

HELP!!!!!!!
Reply Quote
85 Blood Elf Priest
Practice. Lots and lots of practice.
Reply Quote
Yea practice makes perfect, but what seems to work for me is the idea that if you're healing, your partners should never be below 50% PERIOD for more than a second. If I accomplish that in a dungeon/raid, then i've succeeded in being awesome.

Mana conserving is the biggest issue wit me, so gear wise I load on spirit and intel, spellpower comes with the intel, so really i put spirit on priority, helps me keep up with the damn tanks that want to speed run %@!#.