Leveling as a Protection Paladin

85 Human Paladin
I just started playing World of Warcraft last week and I tried leveling as both a retribution paladin and as a protection paladin. I have to admit that leveling as a protection paladin is easier than leveling as a retribution paladin. Avenger's Shield allows me to take a huge chunk of life out of low level mobs at the beginning of the fight unlike Templar's Verdict. Once I got exorcism and enough talent points to get Wrath of the Lightbringer made leveling even easier for me. Moreover, I was able to take on bosses and clusters of mobs on my own with the increased survivability of my protection paladin.

I read that it is easier to level as a retribution paladin because of its greater damage output but I haven't found this to be the case. As a protection paladin I can kill or almost kill mobs of equal level with this opening exorcism, avenger's shield, judgment. If they get close enough I can finish them off with crusader strike and my normal attacks. As a retribution paladin I had to go with exorcism, judgment, one or two crusader strikes and one or two autoattacks. Provided I can more or less gut the next one with a templar's verdict but it doesn't seem as efficient. Wrath of the Lightbringer makes this even more evident.

I'm still wondering though if I can still level up faster as a retribution paladin. I keep reading articles that say that one should level up as a retribution paladin because it is faster. I followed the tips of those who insist that players should play retribution to level (picked up the biggest, baddest, and slowest weapon I could find, focus on DPS stats, etc)but I just don't see leveling in retribution as efficient as leveling in protection.
Reply Quote
85 Human Paladin
I would say that leveling as prot is better, because of the combined avenger's shield, and the fact that you can pull many more enemies and hold your own.

Also, instant LFD groups!
Reply Quote
85 Blood Elf Paladin