Healer, Heal Thyself!

81 Blood Elf Priest
Hey,
sorry that this thread isn't about how bad healing is bjorked and how I quit because blizzard suxors.

So,
there I was in a random dungeon, tank lets a mob through, I take some damage, I am down to about 50% health, everyone else in the group is at 100%, I have about 12,000 mana and... I throw a renew on myself. Sure I could have used a bandage, but I had LOTS of mana and the tank was moving fast. Well, the tank has a fit, I mean a TOTAL 12 year old little girl hissy because (he says) healers shouldn't heal themselves. Ok, so I am only level 76, maybe its different at the level cap, I am always willing to learn. So I ask "why not?", the tank just keeps ranting that I am a noob. "so should I just die?" "stop being a noob!"

Anyway, so educate me. Is it "ok" for a healer to heal herself or not? If not, why not, and what SHOULD I have done?

Thanks.
Reply Quote
90 Draenei Paladin
12/19/2010 5:28 PMPosted by Ysill
because (he says) healers shouldn't heal themselves.
There's only one logical response to that:

Lol, wut?

Seriously. In a lot of situations, the Healer should even be prioritizing himself over the tank. You just had the misfortune to run with one of the crazies; ignore him.
Edited by Karalun on 12/19/2010 5:46 PM PST
Reply Quote
85 Blood Elf Paladin
healer > tank
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Druid
Yeah, don't take healing advice from a lowbie tank who can't hold aggro. Ideally, you're #1 or #2 healing priority in a five man, depending on factors such as the tank's ability to recover from "oh #*!%" situations and the presence of a potential off tank/kiting class in the party.

Realistically, I often find myself at dead last priority simply because I have faith in my ability to get out of the fire. While I'm not alone here, that doesn't mean I shouldn't heal myself if I need to. Next time, take your pick of /facepalm, /kick, and /ignore. They're all suitable for your situation.
Reply Quote