best professions for specific classes?

40 Undead Mage
I've been playing WoW for a couple of months now and I seem to have the hardest time with deciding on what professions to go with on each toon. I've discovered so far that some professions are way less profitable than others...The least profitable profession I have tried so far is skinning, the most profitable so far has been inscription. The most useless production profession I have tried so far: engineering, it seems to be just a money sink and the funny gadgets you make don't really seem to help your game play at all.

I realize of course that I can't get a good perspective on any given profession until I have seen it at the highest levels. At least from the lower levels some of the professions seem totally useless. Does skinning ever become profitable? By level 85 maybe? Does engineering ever become actually useful? I'd love to hear from people with experience at the high level end of things.

My main questions are:

1. What in your opinion is the best / most synergistic combination of professions and classes?
2. What in your opinion is the most profitable and least profitable professions?
3. Is there any profession you think is totally useless on any toon?
4. Is there any profession you think is a MUST have, on either a specific type of toon, or just at least one toon on your roster?

My goals with professions is not just to have the most profitable. I also want to consider what would be the most beneficial to a specific build / play style. I.e. is there a preferred combo of professions for tank builds?

And then of course, for practical purposes I need at least one toon that can consistently be profitable with his professions....

Another good question with the class / profession combos is, would suggestions change if the toon was primarily PvE or PvP? I play on both a PvE and PvP server, so I'm interested in how that factors in as well.