Low level tanking

29 Blood Elf Paladin
I want to learn how to be a good tank, but this is my first time tanking and I'm not really sure the best way to do it at my level. I do keep Righteous Fury up, but my biggest problem is keeping the aggro off the other players. If I can't hold the aggro and an enemy starts attacking another player, what is the best way to get it back off? Specifically how to find the right enemy I guess. If its out of my line of site, how am I able to find the enemy easily without looking around for it? Thanks for any advice.
Reply Quote
85 Blood Elf Paladin
The addons tidyplates/threat plates helps out immensely.

Best way is to set up a kill order and hand of reckoning any stray mobs back to you. If the dps attack the wrong mob its their own fault.
Reply Quote
29 Blood Elf Paladin
Thank you for the response. I'll look into those addons immediately.
I'm not really an experienced player... how do I set up a kill order?
And is there a good guide to help new tank players like me? I've always played DPS and experimented a little in healing, but I'm really interested in learning to tank and be good at it.
Reply Quote
57 Tauren Warrior
Before you get HoR, I'd say the most important thing is trying to keep pulls at 3 or less. Also, unless you are pulling casters, don't pull with avenger shield. what happenes too many times is that your AS doesnt bounce on as many targets as possible, and that is about your only decent threat maker at low levels. You gotta make that avenger shield count. Things get a lot better after HoR.... easy mode tanking if you ask me. Also if you do pull more than 3, take note of which ones do not get hit by the avenger shield. Those are priorities for you to wack with strike so you don't lose aggro.
Edited by Madcowdsease on 1/27/2011 6:23 PM PST
Reply Quote
85 Blood Elf Paladin
Okay creating a kill order