Internet Connections

90 Gnome Mage
The summer is nearing, and with the summer comes my lack of a proper internet connection. I'm currently a college student, and while at college I have a sturdy, cable internet connection which allows me to raid as often as I desire. However, when the summer comes (and therefore I can no longer stay on campus without shelling out more money than I'm willing to), I will go home, where the only internet connections I have found to be possible are dial-up and satellite, both of which are, as you might guess, horrible for playing any online games.

I've checked out DSL and cable internet connections, but none are provided where I live (in the middle of nowhere). I'm making this thread for any possible input on such internet connections which I have not had the knowledge to seek, as I would very much enjoy not having to give up online gaming for three months. Any help is appreciated!
Reply Quote
92 Human Warrior
yah wat sun said would be the best
Reply Quote
90 Draenei Death Knight
I feel our pain. I was able to raid during TBC and WotLK because it wasn't overloaded with well @*@% I stood in the fire so I die instantly mechanics. Or I missed that interrupt so we wipe mechanics.

Heroics are just not possible on satellite internet. Dialup has lower latency but you will not be able to raid because it doesn't have enough bandwidth to handle raids.

Your best bet is to find a friend that lives somewhere with decent broadband and stay there on raid nights.

Or if your blessed with cellular signal (my house doesn't have cell signal) I would go with the tethering a phone or air card options. If you have a laptop and a power inverter you could allways camp a hotel or mcdonalds parking lot on raid nights.
Reply Quote
85 Undead Priest