Professions Revamp

After spending some time grinding the other day to get my Fishing and Blacksmithing maxed out for the millionth time, I started to really hope for a professions revamp in the expansion. Unfortunately, none seems to be coming. After the overhaul of the 1-60 leveling in Cataclysm, and with the idea of streamlining and normalizing content in Mists of Pandaria, I'd just like to talk about revamping the professions.

Crafting as a whole, in World of Warcraft and other MMOs, seem to be a vestige of older MMOs where crafting was a whole playstyle attempting to emulate a world. World of Warcraft has constantly struggled to make crafting relevant as its own thing, as raids demanded that crafting either fall behind or require raiding, defeating the purpose of crafting being separate. I think it's about time Blizzard takes a long look at their professions and ask how they can truly contribute to their game.

Leveling Professions
When I started playing Cataclysm, I started leveling my first real alt for the first time in my history in World of Warcraft. I chose Skinning and Leatherworking for this character. I was absolutely drawn into the new questing experience, and have yet to truly "look at my experience bar" (which is something I've never been able to say about an MMO before, including World of Warcraft in the past). However, I consistently noticed that when I went to skin a mob I had just downed, I wouldn't have enough skill. I would consistently level up significantly faster than my professions could keep up. I feel this is a jarring flaw in the otherwise well-paced character advancement.