Taming a new pet?

39 Blood Elf Hunter
Alright, so I'm really new to this game. I've never played before now, so excuse my noob-ish questions. I feel like I've read this somewhere, but for the life of me I cannot find the thread again or the answers I'm looking for anywhere. How do I tame a new pet? I don't remember ever seeing/doing any quests for this, and when I use the "tame the beast" or whatever, it wont let me. Any help or advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!
Reply Quote
100 Human Warlock
Hmm, they used to have quests when you levelled up that taught you how to tame pets, but maybe not anymore.

Anyway, make sure your pet is dismissed (do not abandon the pet which gets rid of the pet completely. You want to dismiss it so it goes into the stable) You can't tame a new pet if you have an active pet with you.
Reply Quote
39 Blood Elf Hunter
I've tried that but it still didn't work. D: I'll try it again just to be safe though.
Reply Quote
85 Tauren Druid
01/10/2012 09:13 PMPosted by Ariesxx
How do I tame a new pet? I don't remember ever seeing/doing any quests for this, and when I use the "tame the beast" or whatever, it wont let me. Any help or advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

At your level you can probably only have one pet with you at a time, so if it won't let you tame it's either because the pet you want is not tamable (some types of animals are not, and some are available only to the beastmaster spec) or because you have a pet with you. To tame another pet you must stable (place with a stable master) dismiss (temporarily unsummon, which will only help once you reach a level where you can have multiple pets) or abandon (permanently unsummon, you will not be able to summon this pet again) your current pet.

Edit:
01/10/2012 09:22 PMPosted by Ariesxx
I've tried that but it still didn't work. D: I'll try it again just to be safe though.