SOPA/PIPA blackout

46 Night Elf Druid
Can someone (or some people) discuss what exactly these bills plan to do? I've only started hearing about them in the last week or so and have no idea if I should be for or against them.

I don't pirate anything. I'm an aspiring author and would hate it if people were allowed to get my work for free. Judge me as you will, this is why I am not troubled by the government closing in on piracy sites.

I don't pass judgement when others pirate things, but since all I know about these bills is that they want to stop the piracy sites I'm not sure why google got in an uproar about liberty.

How will these affect facebook, twitter, pinterest? Will they? Will they change anything in WoW? I checked Wikipedia yesterday for more info about them and honestly I feel like I'm missing something.

If you can link websites with hardcore information that would be awesome and much appreciated as well. My retail management class is switching a lot of the assignments to things SOPA/PIPA related, more info more better!

TL;DR Wtf is SOPA/PIPA, how will it effect the average internet user, how does it impede liberty. Discuss?

Thanks for your time, everyone have a great Wednesday!! ^_^
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Death Knight
Better yet, I'll grab you the actual bills.

PIPA
http://www.govtrack.us/congress/billtext.xpd?bill=s112-968&version=rs&nid=t0%3Ars%3A244
SOPA
http://judiciary.house.gov/hearings/pdf/112%20HR%203261.pdf
Edited by Karat on 1/18/2012 11:03 AM PST
Reply Quote
85 Tauren Death Knight
I was about to ask why you were linking Wikipedia when they were blacking out

clever girl
Reply Quote
90 Troll Druid
I wish google would have stopped searches instead of just changing the logo.
Reply Quote
01/18/2012 11:00 AMPosted by Reveries

The chaos that would ensue.
Reply Quote
90 Human Warrior
01/18/2012 11:00 AMPosted by Reveries

Don't suggest such things! We don't need a Googleclysm!
Reply Quote