Academic study about WoW - get a game card!

90 Blood Elf Hunter
Hiya, everyone!

I'm a PhD candidate at Colorado State and I'm just beginning my doctoral dissertation research on how WoW players think and feel about their avatars and what it means for senses of identity in virtual worlds. I'm looking for participants on Destromath and Tichondrius relams (Horde or Alliance ... doesn't matter).

I've dubbed this study the AMPER Project: Avatars in Multi-Player Environments Research.

You can go to my snazzy web site for full details: www.amperjay.com

Part 1: A survey: The 10-15 minute survey is open to any WoW player (so please pass it along to your friends!). In the survey, you'll be asked questions about yourself, how you like to play WoW, and about your favorite avatar.
The payoff: everyone who completes the survey will be entered in a drawing for one year of pre-paid game time.

Part 2: Interviews: Based on responses to the survey, 20-30 people will be selected to participate in the second phase of the study. If selected, you'll be asked to do an interview over Skype where we'll talk more in-depth about your avatars and your experiences in WoW. Then, in a second session, you'll pick something for us to do in-game and we'll chat about avatars some more and how it has a place in the WoW universe.
The payoff: everyone who completes the interview phase of the study will be given a guaranteed one-month game card.

Through the whole study, as always, any information you submit will be confidential. As social scientists, we are held to high standards of ethics, lawfulness, and good science. The project has been approved by Colorado State University's review board and adheres to federal standards for protecting your rights and your privacy as a research participant.

I promise - no scams, no need to enter account info, nothing shady. I'm a researcher - it's my job - I wouldn't put my own account or my career at risk.