What was vanilla/old wow like?

83 Human Death Knight
I just started playing wow at the beginning of cata, and I want to know what was vanilla wow/any wow before cata like and what made it fun? what was your favorite memory about it?
please tell me.
90 Goblin Hunter
I only started during Wrath. Here were my favorite things about it -

1. Huge, epic feeling raids. Ulduar, ICC in particular were grandiose and packed packed packed with lore.
2. Dalaran as neutral hub. I miss mingling with Alliance and the days of Dalaran being bustling with activity.
3. playing Enhancement Shaman in wrath, I have the carpel tunnel to prove it but I loved every second of it.
4. Ulduar for a second time. yeah.
5. Leveling took longer and I actually got attached to characters I leveled. I know this seems odd to some but I don't really like leveling out of zones before I finish half of the quests. I don't use heirlooms to level either.
90 Human Warlock
WHERE IS MANKRIK'S WIFE?
90 Night Elf Priest
Most of those who have their "rose colored glasses" on miss the newness of the game and that most everyone were newbs. You cannot get that feeling back. Other than that the game was not more fun. Koworu pretty much puts it in a nutshell.
Edited by Avaryce on 2/27/2012 12:12 PM PST
85 Orc Hunter
I of course have nostalgic feelings toward original WoW, and I did love the game. The game itself was not hard, but the lack of features did make the game more time-consuming. There were far less flight paths, and paths had to be discovered before you could use them. There were no "sparkles" over quest objectives and mobs needed for quests were not highlighted. Also, you were not able to purchase a mount until level 40 which means you spent a lot of time on foot. There were no queues for dungeons and you had to form a group in general/trade chat and travel there, use the summoning stones, etc.

Again, the lack of these features did not make the game harder, but did make it much more time consuming.