WoW Almanac

90 Night Elf Priest
Hi all,

I've been working on a little WoW site for a while now, tapping into blizzard's API. I'm only really working on it with freetime I have, which lately with work and Diablo 3 is almost no time at all.

So instead of waiting to 'release' the site until I have implemented all the features, I'm going to release what I have now and tag it BETA, and add new features as I get time down the road. Why not right? (technically it should probably be alpha, but whatever).

I'm only collecting data for 3 realms right now. I've yet to receive an api key, so it's the best I can do for right now. It's ok though because I'm still ironing out various bugs and trying to implement more features.

NOTE: I am not a pro web developer, the site kind of looks crappy, but that will be fixed down the road. I'm more of a back end data developer, so front end design is something I suck at.

The technologies I'm using are:
python (for all data collecting, processing, and even the website)
django (for the website)
PostgresSQL database

The whole service is broken up into 3 'sections' if you will:
1. Data collection. I collect data for realms, and update characters / guilds data when it's been updated by the API. I do this on a sort of "schedule", so it's not updated right away, there will be lag from a character getting an achievement, and it appearing on WoW Almanac.

2. Data preparation. I take the data, and perform various grouping or calculations on it. For example: creating an ordered list of everyone on the realm, ordered by achievement points.

3. Present the processed data on the website. Self explanatory ^_^.

My site is http://www.wowalmanac.com/, and there are two features right now:

1. Realm Stats
This feature will be expanded a ton down the road, but for right now I cover some basic things: Top achievement points by character, top achievement points by guild, top pet collectors, top mount collectors.