Regarding the cheating in STV Fishing Comp

I'd like to ask the players of this server, those who actually care, and the GMs, what the position is regarding people cheating during the STV Fishing Extraveganza.

I am fairly new to this server, having just moved to Canada from Europe, and for the past 2 Sundays have tried the STV fishing competition. The last time I tried this competition was pre-Cataclysm, so of course there were no flying mounts in Stranglethorn at that time.

On both attempts I was saddened that some players had taken to what I consider arranged cheating. They would get a couple of their guildmates to fly up and down the coast on their flying mounts, and then "land" on top of any fishing pools any other players were using so they couldn't click the bobber to fish.

Yesterday Mcpounding (from Judge Jury and Executor guild) won the fishing contest using this tactic. His two guildmates Fäde and Reel were flying up and down and blocking other contenders from looting their fish. This happened to me 7 or 8 times during the contest. Given it took me easily twice as long to get the fish as usual because of this, and I still got 30 even then, I feel I could have won if it weren't for these tactics. The winner (Mcpounding) didn't win because he was the most skilled fishermen, just because he was the 1 player who chose to cheat.

I reported the players involved for cheating using the in-game system, but ofc I will probably never know if any action was taken. Would the GMs even consider this cheating? I have no idea.

I just want to ask the GMs what do they advise honest competitors like myself do about this?

Choices are

a) Stop taking part, but if every honest competitor did this it would just become a competition where only cheats take part
b) Keep reporting these people each week until some action is taken. But would any action ever be taken?
c) Employ these tactics myself and get my guildmates to come and do the same thing and block other players.