Guild Master and Gold

40 Worgen Druid
As a guild master, how do you decide how much to put into the guild? Do you pay for all the bank tabs yourself? I am new to running a guild and I don't know how it's normally done. I am thinking about having one alt just for gaining gold for the guild and still having my main to make gold for the things my toon will need (epic flying, ect). I was wondering how other GM's did it. Thank you.

A bit of a history: My guild is made up of less than 10 people. We are close friends and family. We all were horde on a different server, but with MoP coming out we wanted to roll on another server and play alliance. Our old GM has health problems and doesn't want to take it over anymore, so I said I would. So far everyone is expecting me to buy all the bank tabs. I don't mind doing it, but then how do you pay for all the stuff you want? Do I have to sacrifice what I want for the guild? Or can I have it all? lol
Reply Quote
90 Worgen Druid
Just buy the tabs as you need them. For a small guild I don't think you really need all the slots right away.

As the guild grows and the demand for more tabs increases you will probably be able to ask the guild to help you out by putting donations into the bank to help fund them.
Reply Quote
90 Draenei Shaman
You might want to pay for 2 or 3 tabs yourself, but as the guild levels and you get Cash Flow, you can use those funds to buy more tabs. Or, you can take up a collection from your guildies. It is not your job (unless you choose it) to cover 100% of all expenses of the guild....only to manage the funds.
Reply Quote
14 Troll Priest
Short version: I bought the first 4 at least, maybe 5 tabs. We were still kind of small then. Until we reached 75ish members I paid for tabs, had about 5k in the bank and had it stocked a bit. After 75 or so, and others started putting in more, I stopped. However, I also opened the bank more when others started helping more.

As I tell my members-