Noob Question: What does OP mean?

Hi, I'm pretty new to WoW and everything here, and didn't know where to ask this. I've been seeing the abbreviation "OP" everywhere lately on the forums, and know that one version means Original Poster, meaning the person who started a thread.

I've been seeing it also in threads (and replies) talking about OP death knights or OP priests, or OP somebody this and that, and such and wondered what it meant in those terms. Are people meaning something like "over-powered" or over powering as OP too? I've been seeing the term a lot now after this new patch was brought out...

I'm sorry this is such a noobie question, but it's just been driving me crazy. Thanks for any help!
Reply Quote
MVP - World of Warcraft
100 Blood Elf Hunter
Yep, you figured it out. :) In regards to forums, OP often means "original poster" or "original post."

In regards to the game in general, OP means "overpowered."

You'd have to check the context of what it's being used in to be sure of which they mean. :D
Reply Quote
100 Tauren Druid
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OP

:D

Really what Cerylia said though. If you see something like @OP or in the OP it's talking about the original post or poster. If you see something like DKs are OP then they mean Deathkinghts are Overpowered.
Reply Quote
Shadow Priests are sooooo ridiculously OP (in PVP) right now it's not even funny.

just sayin'
Reply Quote
60 Troll Hunter
My PvP mage feels like Hunters are OP

A hunter friend says it's 6 years of frost nova coming back at me QQ
Reply Quote
85 Human Paladin
it can mean:

original poster
original post
overpowered
overpower (old warrior ability)
Reply Quote
To: Cerylia, Dasffion, Baloo, Jilixx, and Robokapp-Thanks for letting me know! Sorry to bother you guys with something so simple, but i just wasn't sure.

Thanks for the help!
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Rogue
09/15/2012 10:12 AMPosted by Martika