Freshly Minted Prot Pally Cooldown Questions

90 Blood Elf Paladin
Hi all! I just hit 85 (working hard to get enough gear to run Theramore) and was wondering when/ how I should be using my cooldowns.

I've got so many, I don't know if I should be sitting on them all to have so I can cast in tandem with each other (such as GoAK and Ard. Def. since they have similar CD timers). I know this is a total noob question, but this is my first time end-game tanking and want to do things right so I don't build up a bunch of bad habits.

Any tips?
Reply Quote
90 Tauren Paladin
Depends on what you're fighting. Certain bosses have specific times you want to use cooldowns (e.g. Impale on Madness, high stacks of Void Bolt on Yor'sahj, Infinite Breath on Murozond), otherwise it comes down to when you need them.

You should never want or need to stack them, though. Damage reductions stack multiplicatively, so you're actually getting less reduction by stacking them than you'd think.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
Duly noted; chaining is the way to go.

I'm mostly curious about this since I don't ever seem to have any health issues in the 5-mans I'm running that switching from Sh. of Righteousness to WoG won't solve (as far as holy power usage is concerned).
Reply Quote
90 Tauren Paladin
Five mans aren't very dangerous anymore, and they weren't designed with our new active defense system in mind. Shield of the Righteous and Word of Glory are very potent now.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
Ah, well all the same I'd like to get it right while the "training wheels" are still on.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
Depends on what you're fighting. Certain bosses have specific times you want to use cooldowns (e.g. Impale on Madness, high stacks of Void Bolt on Yor'sahj, Infinite Breath on Murozond), otherwise it comes down to when you need them.