UI Addons advice

90 Human Warlock
I'm new to addons, and I don't want to know what the "best" UI addons are, but I would like to know which ones are useful, or that you think are beneficial for providing info on cooldowns and streamlining play, or whatever you happen to like about them. I'm looking for opinions, rather than someone to say "Bartender is the best and the only thing you should have", I want to experiment and play around with differant ones, just looking for some direction as to which ones are worth playing with :)
Reply Quote
85 Night Elf Druid
I think the most useful type of addon is a buff / debuff tracker. There is a variety of trackers out there to choose from.

No reason to use a bunch of addons you do not find useful. I only use a few small addons that I wrote for myself. Figure out what you want to change or add to the game.
Reply Quote
90 Undead Death Knight
Here's a few that I simply couldn't live without, and some alternatives for them, and what I think are the up/down sides for each:

Bartender. I know you said you didn't want a "this one is the best" but really it is. Dominoes is ok, but I tend to find it a little more buggy. Also, Masque (another skinning addon) works with it to change the look of the buttons themselves. AFAIK, there's no such option for Dominoes. Also the way keybinding works in Bartender is great.

Power Auras Classic. A must for any class that has to pay attention to cooldowns, buff/debuff timers, procs, etc. Which is every class and spec these days. Not the most user friendly, but very powerful and lots of configuration options. Alternative: TellMeWhen. It's much more user friendly, but not quite as powerful or configurable.

ClassTimers. Allows you to create timer bars for just about anything related to your class abilities. Very easy to configure and user friendly. Alternatives. There's a bunch, but Raven and ForteExorcist are two of the other really good ones. They're much more powerful but much less user friendly.