Bear vs Monk need advice for first real tank

1 Human Priest
So only 2 classes I have never played are Druid and obviously monk. Not rolling both because gearing the same guy out twice is just a waste of time to me. I have very little experience tanking as most of my classes have been healers or DPS. I played a pally tank during Wrath for a bit but ended up going back to Holy/Ret cause Prot was a snoozefest. Tried a Warrior but never made it past 75. Too many buttons to keep up with. Im not paying $15 a month to work. Im paying it to have fun and having to remap my entire keyboard in order to use like 30 keybinds is not fun, thats called work.

I know Monks are new and no one is raiding with them yet but between Bear and Monk which one would be better for someone who hasnt tanked much? I really want to try Monk but I dont want to level him all the way to 90 and then find out I suck and just shelve him next to my DK to collect dust. Also would like to go back and solo old raids like TBC and Wrath stuff so which would be better at that? I know druids get stealth so that would probably make them at least a little better at soloing old raids cause you can skip all the trash. But which has beter defensive cooldowns and self heals needed to stay alive? Also which does better DPS to beat enrage timers. Although when you are 10-20 levels over the content I doubt enrages even matter.

Only problem that sucks with druid is I love picking out cool transmog sets and they are just wasted of Druids, which is lame. I mean why cant I transmog into an Amani Bear? Every other class can look cool except druids, doesnt seem fair. But anyways back to topic. Monk or Druid for someone wanting to try out a new tank thats forgiving and fairly easy to play and also has some great solo power for old stuff.
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Druid
Well, why not try out Monk? I've seen some Monk tanks and they're pretty good. Look cool too.
Reply Quote
1 Human Priest
09/26/2012 02:17 AMPosted by Shauland