Newbie question 101

39 Human Paladin
I just started playing WOW, and I was just wondering what exactly are pet battles. I got stoked thinking I could actually have a pet like a Hunter, but after reading a little bit on things I am just confused. Anyone out there to help a noob out?
Reply Quote
90 Troll Priest
09/26/2012 07:41 PMPosted by Bhods
I just started playing WOW, and I was just wondering what exactly are pet battles. I got stoked thinking I could actually have a pet like a Hunter, but after reading a little bit on things I am just confused. Anyone out there to help a noob out?

Hey there Bhods. Pet battles is a new system just added to the game. It's basically a huge mini game where you go around the world collecting pets and battling them.

The pets used are known as companion pets, and can be acquired through different methods. They are a separate category from hunter pets in that they aren't used for actual combat.

However it is quite expensive to get the training to start pet battles for new players, currently 100g. If it sounds like something that interests you I would recommend waiting until you are higher level when gold comes more easily.
Edited by Monmonn on 9/26/2012 7:51 PM PDT
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Rogue
There's 2 kinds of pets in this game:

Combat Pets which help you fight your enemies, and are only available as a feature of certain classes (hunters, frost mages, warlocks, unholy death knights).

And vanity pets, which until recently did absolutely nothing but follow you around looking cute.
These vanity pets can now be used to wear out critters in the wild so that you can capture them and add them to your vanity pet collection. Also you can use these vanity pets in a battle against another player's vanity pets. If you've ever played Pokemon, this should sound REALLY familiar. That is the new Pet Battle system.
Edited by Avanna on 9/26/2012 7:48 PM PDT
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin