Xubuntu for netbook?

I'm not too experienced in linux distros. I need a lightweight distro that will be used for office purposes (no heavy use and especially no games.) Ubuntu works fine, but various graphical effects will stutter because of the weak IGP. Will Xubuntu be noticeably smoother on a netbook?
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Mage
The XFCE desktop (Xubuntu) is considerably more "lightweight" than the normal (still Gnome?) desktop on Ubuntu. I've never used it on a netbook, but I played with these distros on my old K7 (Athlon XP) system where I needed lightweight. LXDE is even lighter, but I'm not sure how well the Lubuntu distro is maintained now. I ended up loading regular Ubuntu as a CLI server and then installing LXDE or XFCE from the command line package manager ("apt-get" or whatever).

But that's kinda advanced (you'll have a computer you don't know how to use for an hour or so, lol) but I just did that to make it really really lightweight for that ancient CPU... but the last time I used it, (on a newer PC) Xubuntu was pretty solid right out of the box. I always used the LTS version (Lucid), but just because Maverick was screwy with the nvida chipset on my K7... I think the new LTS edition is out now - and that looks like the latest release of Xubuntu anyway.

So, yes, it'll be smoother. There is lighter desktops out there, but Xubuntu is probably the best-put-together one of all the official Ubuntu knockoffs.

Edit: it looks like there actually is 12.10 and 12.04 versions of Lubuntu out, but I have no idea how well it's supported these days - It seemed somewhat neglected when I tried it like 2 years ago, but they may have gotten their act together by now, considering that they have both of those new versions up... (disclaimer: LXDE is light, but it's pretty hardcore bare-bones. XFCE is a nicer more full-featured interface)
Edited by Plusfour on 9/27/2012 1:29 PM PDT
Reply Quote
Alright thank you
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Mage
mhmm.