Legit question about copyright stuff

Alright, i better start by saying im not bashing the game, i love it, and the pet battle system. I was also a Pokemon fan back when i was a kid. Now that that's over, here's my question.

Im no lawyer, but ive seen some games get sued for less for using another games ideas(Oblivion creator sued some game over using a style of pillar that looked like something out of oblivion) I could be off on that story abit, but that was the jist of it.

When i first tried out the pet battles, i said to myself "holy crap, this looks just like Pokemon", only difference is instead of tossing a poke ball, its a wooden cage type thing. (and they aren't actual Pokemon obviously)

So how did Blizzard get away with this without any issues? Don't get me wrong, im glad they did, i love the battle system so far, but im honestly wondering.
Reply Quote
90 Human Paladin
Good question. It is dangerously close to IP infringement. They've unabashedly copied virtually every game design aspect from Pokemon. I wouldn't be surprised a bit if they do get sued-- though whether it is successful is another matter.

I guess they figure if Zynga can get away with it most of the time, why not?
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Druid
I am not a lawyer, but...

Fundamentally, unless they copy the art, text or music, they're safe. game mechanics have been repeatedly found not to be a protectable form of IP. Even instances of patents on game mechanics are really only protected by the amount of money that might be brought to bear were a case to be fought: and there are precious few game companies that could afford to risk the money against blizzard.
Reply Quote
85 Draenei Priest
But the edges are round!
Reply Quote
90 Goblin Shaman