New to wow, tips + how to play/level a mage?

18 Worgen Druid
I am new to wow, have only been playing for about three weeks roughly, i've levelled a hunter to level 80 and then mop came out. I have decided to go with a mage since it was the race i originally wanted to roll with, but mate convinced me to go hunter as a starter. The hunter was fun, but mage is where it's at for me :) I'm not looking for comments on, panda mage = lame, etc. just any help you could give in answering my questions, i'd appreciate it.

- My first question is this, (in your opinion, obviously) what is the best spec to level a mage in PvE( atm i'm level 25)?
I've gone with frost because of the companion and a friend told me it was a little less squishy because you aren't taking all the damage solo.
- Second question is, what abilities should i be using, i pretty much spam frostbolt until i can ice lance with the spec and when im in a group of more than 2-3 enemies, i spam arcane explosion. This seems wrong and kind of noobish, because i can see all these other abilities and i'm just using three mostly haha ( i use the freezing one and the water elemental freeze as well as blink to avoid damage).
-Thirdly, any tips for increasing my survivability, beyond getting better gear. I use health potions, bandages and food between battles. Anything else i should be doing (i'm new to wow...)

- Fourth thing, Which talents are the best for PvE?

Finally, something that is probably on the net, but i'll add it here since i've already typed heaps anyway. i tend to pull agro from my pet and other players when i'm grouped. How do i do damage as a mage without pulling the whole mob onto me and getting killed...?
Reply Quote
69 Pandaren Mage
This is my mage character here:
<----
(The one above is the one i played during the wow trial before buying the game)
Reply Quote
100 Tauren Druid