What do you tell a level 35 mage?

85 Gnome Priest
I am new to mages, I only had 1 level 85 in Cata, and that would be my priest. I would be focusing on him right now if it weren't for the fact I have no intention of buying MoP til Tuesday or Wednesday, due to my friend IRL moving back from Cali to where I live, and we will be leveling and experiencing MoP together.

For the time being, I have until Tuesday to get to 70, for a bet consisting of 20 dollars. Just a little bet for the lols while he is on his way back. So I have a few questions for the experienced players out there.

I currently am level 35, apparently, and I am trying to find the best spec, and possibly priority SPELLS, to be using. I currently play as frost, and I am loving it. I constantly have top DPS in any dungeon, period, end of story, monks do come in close 2nd. (well, did, until level 27ish where they just fall behind with my major DPS output)

Would fire be any better for questing/dungeons? When I que for bgs I am certain I will most likely want to be Frost. The survivability is insane, and the freezes, slows, and insta-cast crits for around 800-1k damage when the target is frozen is just insane, and I decided scorch/ice barrier as the current talents I use. Thinking about leaving scorch behind for the talent that let's you cast 2 spells, that are less than 2 second casts, to be usable while moving. I mean, 1 min CD for 2 Frost bolts on the move? I think yes, as I never really use scorch.

I just want some added input on my situation. Would fire be worth it as an off spec, as I have no intentions of playing arcane unless I am convinced that it's the way to go. Also, how useful would Fire be in a BG at my level? I hear it has great survivability and mobility, but I find mobility to be no issue as Frost, and I still put out a ton of damage with instant casts.