Maximizing Hunter DPS in MoP...

90 Dwarf Hunter
Hello, and greetings, fellow hunters! This is my first post here in this forum. My main character in WoW is Mairna, a level 90 female dwarf hunter on Wymrest Accord (US). I have been playing WoW for about seven years now, though I just came back in time for the latest expansion after over a year’s hiatus.

There have been so many changes since the time that I temporarily left WoW. Mists of Pandaria has presented me with an extreme challenge to re-evaluate my play style, and to understand my class in an entirely new way. After a great deal of research, theory-crafting, and actual combat testing, which is a never-ending learning process, I wanted to share with you my recommendations for maximizing your DPS and damage potential. I do hope that you find something useful here, and I welcome any helpful comments for improving these suggestions even further.

To begin with, as a point of reference, here is the link to my character sheet on Battle.Net:

http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/wyrmrest-accord/Mairna/advanced

My current average iLevel is 438. Most of my gear is unenchanted at present, since I am hoping to obtain better gear in MoP heroics, and eventually be able to raid again. I have no socketed gear right now, so I focused on re-forging every possible piece of gear I had so that I could reach the cap for both hit and expertise (I am nearly capped in both stats).

As per usual, agility remains our primary stat, since it improves both our ranged attack power (RAP), and our crit at the same time. Generally speaking, it seems to me that expertise is the new priority stat that we hunters need to focus on. The less chance that a mob or boss will dodge our shots, the greater our DPS will be.