Solo Monk Leveling: Mistweaver vs Brewmaster

100 Gnome Monk
So I am solo questing in Un'goro at the moment, and just hit 54 (avatar not yet updated apparently). I leveled as Mistweaver from the start, and wanted to check out Brewmaster since I'd heard great things about it.

Now I have a little bit better gear on my Mistweaver, but I do have several pieces of heirloom gear for Brewmaster, so gear should not be much of a factor.

What I have found so far is that I survive better and have a slightly higher DPS on my Mistweaver. Heals are so strong that they can help keep my alive through anything. I can take 4 same level mobs easily, probably more than that. On my Brewmaster, well, even with Stagger and using Blackout Kick to help with Stagger and parrying, plus using Guard when it is up, I have a harder time honestly. And DPS is no better. The main issue seems to be energy starvation.

I'm sure I could improve my Brewmaster performance since I am new to a number of the skills, but I'm not sure it is worth the effort when I can't see it being that much better than Mistweaver.

Anyways, I'm currently going back to Mistweaver, but I was curious what others who have tried leveling with both specs think about each.

Thanks for any feedback!
Reply Quote
90 Pandaren Monk
Brewmaster is all about the AoE. Keg Smash -> Guard -> Breath of Fire -> Spinning Crane Kick until Keg Smash is up, and then lather rinse repeat.

Brewmasters are CRAZY good at taking a crapload of mobs at once and never having their health budge below 3/4. You wont kill things lickety-split, but groups of 5+ mobs will generally all end up dying at roughly the same time.
Reply Quote
90 Gnome Monk
As mistweaver monk you will have more mana issue later on if you constantly use your abilities without breaking