Chinese remainder theorem for WoW Professions

I am an engineer with a 24 units of Mithril and 24 Truesilver bars and 16 units of Goblin Rocket fuel How many Goblin Dragon Guns can I make? The Easy answer to this problem would be to assume that you can make 4 guns because you have 24 Mithril bars which is 4 multiples of 6. The problem with this is that 2 Mithril tubes, which you also need takes 6 mithril bars so in reality you can only make 2 guns because you needed 12 Mithril bars not 6 as though to make your gun. Now this problem is relatively simple, but can you think of any ones where the math to figure out the most number of units of something you can make with the least number of mats is a little harder than multiples of 6?

My Theory is that we can use Chinese remainder theorem and the Euclidean division algorithm to figure out the maximum amount of units we can make in any given profession.

(I want to go over some basics first then I will get to the idea, if you are well versed with abstract algebra and number theory in general you can skip to the following paragraph)