simplest tanking class as of 5.1?

I've tanked 5-man heroics in Cata and earlier with every class, but I have zero experience tanking in Panda-land since I've been focusing on healing. I will probably continue to focus on healing with my various toons, but I would like to tank with one of them. The kicker is that the "rotation" and number of cooldowns needs to be relatively small so that I can focus on what is going on in the fight and not have to look at my action bars or panic about where some special cooldown is.

From what I can see, the bear might be my best bet, though the death knight might also be acceptable. There are more cooldowns than I would like on the death knight, but it is better than warrior or paladin tanking from what I remember and the basic "rotation" is dead simple. I have no clue at all on the brewmaster style. My druid is my "main" so the bear would also be the easiest to gear up as I get drops when I don't have a greedy panda (like this toon) rolling against me ;-)

Note that this would be 5-man heroic and LFR tanking only, just for fun and to keep the game interesting. I'm not concerned with min maxing or whether one class or another excels at progression. I would probably go back and solo all raid content that is doable in LFR level gear.
Reply Quote
100 Night Elf Death Knight
I've been toying around with every tanking class for a while now (not much raiding, mainly just dungeons to test things out) and without giving it a whole lot of thought I'd say bear would be the simplest to learn.

In terms of learning curve, I'd rate the tanking classes as follows:
Monk >= DK > Pally >= Warrior > Druid.

If you don't want many cooldowns, stay away from Blood since proper use of cooldowns is very important to smooth out our incoming damage.

Also, I know many people who seem to think pally tanking is really simple. IMO, the basic rotation is pretty straightforward, but I've found utilizing the pally's potential to be pretty tough.
Reply Quote