building new pc help!

90 Tauren Druid
Hey guys, I'm new to pc building and I'd love to give it a try.

As far as my gaming needs are, I play wow and diablo 3. I don't really see myself getting into any fps gaming anytime soon. Also I'd love to be able to run fraps correctly. As far as wow goes, I don't mind if it doesn't run at 100% ultra, given my budget, but it would be nice :P

My budget is about $500
Plus whatever video card I end up buying.

I do have a 750 watt power supply and a tower.

I'd love to hear your input in some parts that are good values. I expect to be trolled a bit, but I'd also love to hear from all you tech savvy folks.

Thank you in advance.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
On the whole, you're unlikely to get trolled here. Just give it some time and us critics will point out any bull!@#$ posts.

With that said, what model/brand is your power supply? It should say on the side in the case. Your power supply may be 750w but if it's a bad brand or built badly it can kill your entire PC when it dies so that's a bad idea. Otherwise with the power supply and case taken out you have a lot more room to work with. As far as WoW and Diablo 3 are concerned you should be able to run them without any issues, assuming your monitor is 1080p.

Do you want a SSD (Solid State Drive?) I'd recommend it. They are significantly pricier than traditional HDDs price-per-gigabyte, but provide nearly instant load times and system boot times.

This is all good information to have; once I get ahold of all the important info, either I or another fine denizen here (AKA Kalganized) can throw together something for you.
Edited by Liposuction on 12/6/2012 12:31 PM PST
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Hunter
Let's see, you'd basically just need a motherboard, a CPU and a storage device? Maybe a DVD drive?