New to healing, etiquette question

81 Draenei Death Knight
OK, I've been playing my shammy quite a bit lately, and having a ton of fun with it. I am relatively new to WoW. I am by no means a noob when it comes to MMOs (long term EQ addict, SWTOR, etc), and have healed in other games, just not this one. I must admit my background is somewhat tank heavy though.

I ran into an extremely frustrating scenario this evening, that I'd like you guy's input on. Running a dungeon with a random group and there was a rogue that was constantly at deaths door. As a former tank, I can understand attacking the wrong target and pulling agro. It's not something you should strive for, but it happens, no big deal. But this was a case of the rogue going left when the tank was going right. We're talking engaging mobs that are no where near the current pull.

Naturally my main focus is on the tank and other group members who are acting like a group. I mentioned to the person that they were making things more difficult for me and was pretty much ignored.

How much obligation do I have as a healer to keep someone alive in that situation?
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
You can go two ways etiquette-wise, both completely acceptable and encouraged by the healing community.

1) If they are causing strain on you, and are requiring more healing than the tank, or are limiting your ability to effectively heal the tank, just let them die. If you feel like making a statement, don't rez them (if you have told them that they are doing something wrong). Let them run back. It's caddy, sure.. but it lets them know that you know they are doing something wrong. Sometimes a little tough love will teach a 12 year old to play as a team.