New Healer

88 Orc Death Knight
So, I have been tanking and playing dps for two years now and I would like to try a healer finally. Since, winter break is upon us, I wanted to give myself a challenge and try to get to raids by the end of it. I have experimented a small amount, but no further than 30. I don't need to be told how or when to heal and use abilities. I just want to know what a new healer friendly class would be and what a better place to ask than the healer forums. If anyone could help me and leave a class suggestion and maybe why, it would be much appreciated.
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Druid
It all depends on your playstyle: Certain people will enjoy certain healing classes, and others will hate them. I enjoy playing Druid because I love the HoT mechanics.

If you're purely interested in PvE, I'd say a priest is always a great choice for new healers. They've got an enormous toolkit, but you don't need to use every tool there is in order to heal well as a priest. Disc is doing quite well right now on the raid healing meters.

That being said, if you like PvP at high levels, I've heard priests kind of suck.
Reply Quote
100 Human Priest
I'd roll shaman or monk with your background. They're both useful, fun, and relatively unhindered in most* areas that tend to challenge healers.

I've hardcore raided with them all (though with monks that was mostly in the beta) and my personal favorites are disc priest and druid.
Reply Quote
100 Blood Elf Paladin
How long is your break?

Getting to 90 from 30 (or perhaps lower) in less than a week (2 week break?) can be done, certainly, but getting into raids close to 460 equipped might indeed be a challenge.

If your time frame is shorter than two weeks, I'd scratch the paladin off of your list. Ret levels...noticeably...slower than any of your other options, and you will need decent healing gear, plus passable Ret gear.

Druid/Shaman/Priest can use one gear set for both dps and healing, which helps.