How do I improve my DPS?

90 Human Warrior
Although I got some help on the General forums, I thought this would be the best place to learn how to play my class.

I've been playing this Fury Warrior ever since I started WoW 2 years ago. It's the only class I'm really familiar with, yet I'm not very good at it. I would like to learn why I'm bad at this game, and specifically this class. It's possible I just need to try some other classes and level them substantially to learn whether a Warrior just isn't for me, but I'd like to stick with this character and make a Warrior work.

My DPS sucks. It wasn't very good in Cataclysm, but it was my first expansion and I was clueless when it came to gearing and everything towards the beginning. But it seems like I'm only doing worse in MoP, despite knowing this class and this game a little better. I would've expected to have improved with time, but I find friends who've never even touched a Warrior can play it better than me.

I've already started fixing some major problems pointed out in my thread on the General forum, as well as the Warrior guide here, namely improving my Hit and, to a lesser extent, Expertise, getting enchants, and replacing some bad pieces of gears. I'd still like some advice, though, as to why my DPS is trapped abysmally in the 28k-32k range. When my friends' Lv. 88 Warrior alts DPS more than me, it gets depressing.

I know Fury Warriors are very gear-dependent, but I feel my attacks, buffs, and CDs are a major problem as well, and that's where I could use some tips particularly.

It should be noted I'm speaking strictly PvE, of course, as I don't PvP whatsoever.
Reply Quote
90 Tauren Paladin
At your gear level, 60k shouldn't be a stretch... but you are also using a very odd approach when it comes to gear.
You have a ring intended for healers / caster dps, if it is in your bags, it boosts your item level, you don't have to wear it.