Level 23 Holy Paladin - AWFUL at healing

23 Draenei Paladin
So I tried doing a dungeon and I'm horrible at healing. I ended up with everything in CD almost right away and couldn't do anything else and the tank needed to be healed.

Should I roll as DPS right now instead? I did a holy pally specifically because I want to learn to heal. I've read some guides but I'm really new to WoW and MMORPGs in general, so they weren't helpful. What am I missing?

Anyone want to help a very confused newbie?
Reply Quote
90 Human Paladin
you are level 23. you haven't begun to get true healing skills yet. stick it out in the mean time by not spam healing. slow down your rotation always have a heal ready.
Reply Quote
23 Draenei Paladin
Would I be better off questing solo a bit more? That's what I've been doing but I thought maybe I should start playing in groups at some point to get a feel for things. But it seemed like everything was happening really fast, because of course you don't really spend a lot of time using the various heals on yourself soloing unless you're doing something really very wrong.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
At your level you have Holy Shock, Word of Glory and Flash of Light. That should be all you need to get through dungeons at your level. There's not that much damage to heal at 23. That said, when you hit 34 you get Holy Light and you'll see a nice improvement.

Also, you have a bunch of gear with Strength, and surprisingly, no Blue gear. When you run random dungeons they will give you a Blue piece of gear with strong stats. Sometimes it will be good for your spec, sometimes not, but you should have one or two by now. Run a couple of random dungeons and try to get some Intellect gear and not Strength gear. Strength doesn't help you heal. Intellect helps your healing spells be stronger and Spirit helps you regenerate your mana faster. Don't worry about if it's cloth, leather or mail. That doesn't matter at all until you reach a higher level (50 I think?).