Holy Paladin and Eternal Flame

90 Human Paladin
Just curious from paladins with more raiding experience then me, looking at logs I see every top parsing holy paladin's logs eternal flame is the top heal. I try to eternal flame, it just doesn't seem efficient and I'm wondering what I'm doing wrong. My guild just recently swapped from 10 mans to 25 mans and for example on Garalon top holy paladins use eternal flame, I don't see how it is better than LoD spam which is what I was doing. I tried ef blanketing and my numbers were really low is it because I don't have 4 set? Here's our kill log if anyone would enlighten me.
http://www.worldoflogs.com/reports/cqy31bsm0k3vqcf0/analyze/hd/source/?s=4930&e=5344
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
So I'm new to Pally healing (used to heal with a Priest and Druid) but I'm by far no expert, I'm just guessing here since I haven't done much healing with the Pally yet (but I've been reading a lot), and what I think they might be doing is putting Eternal flame on more targets using less HP (1-2 HP instead of all 3), that way you get the HoT on more people for less HP. Like I said that's just a guess. I don't know a lot yet, and I'm not sure if that would be better than using LoD but I was considering it earlier. So...that's all I've got. Anyone experienced let us know?
Reply Quote
100 Draenei Paladin
The tier bonuses (either the PvP one, or preferably the PvE one) help a lot.

Also, the typical caveats apply - topping meters isn't your only goal, blanketing isn't always the best way to do things, etc etc. Yadda yadda.

Okay. Eternal Flame blanketing is pretty strong, but you still would want to store up for a 3HP LoD after each Crush if you're raid healing. It's true that you don't always need to save up for a 3 HP EF, although technically doing so is usually the highest raw HPS.