Just can't seem to do any healing.

90 Blood Elf Paladin
Hello,

To make a long story short, this character was bumped to 80 by a SoR and I'm somewhat new to the game (I last played during BC). I'm trying to switch him from Tank spec to Healer spec, and I've read all the guides I can, taken the current stat priority into account:

Spirit > Intellect > Mastery > Haste > Crit

But I cannot heal. At all. When I try to heal in a dungeon or in PvP, I can barely make a dent in anyone's HP and of course I end up running out of mana left and right and everybody dies because I'm furiously smashing everything and wondering why my heals are doing so little actual healing. (I'm healing people with 300k+ HP and my heals do.. 22k.)

I'm trying to run Heroic MoP dungeons with people so that I can get some actual gear, because all Healer plate in the auction house on my server is 10x as expensive as all the plate for everyone else (and no one was surprised...) and due to my being bumped up to 80, I have very little gold to spend on gear, which I have a feeling is my issue here. Questions as follows:

1. Is Intellect the spec that will make my heals do more actual healing? Is it something else? I thought I had a good amount of Int.
2. Is there another good way to get healing gear, since I'm kind of SOL on the Auction House and even moreso in Heroic dungeons?
3. Any advice for Holy Paladin healing?

I keep hearing that holy paladins are great for healing but this has been my most exhausting and inefficient healer to date. :(

Thank you everyone.

(Sorry this got long.)
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Druid
Haven't played my holy paladin past her current level (she's 85, and even then only pvping on her) so can't comment much on your talent choices.

What spells are you using in both pvp and pve to heal with?

Really the only way to get gear is through dungeons, AH, or buying it with valor point or honor points (for your pvp set). And then LFR once you have the required ilvl.