How do I put runes on a copper rod?

71 Orc Warlock
I'm a noob that's been playing for less than a month and as a warlock for about a week. Long story short, I picked enchanting as a profession and don't really know much about using magic, hence my question. How do I put runes on the copper rod I purchased so I can use it to enchant items? Thank you in advance for any help I may receive.
Reply Quote
85 Blood Elf Paladin
To get to your professions list, open the spellbook (default key = "P") and click the [Professions] tab on the bottom. Click on "Enchanting" to open the profession interface; here you will see all of the recipes that you know, and what materials are required to craft them.

For your runed copper rod, you will need to have a copper rod (I believe you purchase those from Enchanting Goods Suppliers, NPCs that usually hang out near the Enchanting Trainer in cities) and a few dusts and essences. These are the building blocks for most of your enchanting, and they come from disenchanting (using the Disenchant ability in your Professions tab) green-quality or higher gear. This gear can come from drops, from questing, or from other professions (say, if you picked up Tailoring as your second profession, and crafted green-quality gear that you then disenchanted).

Once you've made your Runed Copper Rod, you'll be able to do other enchantments as well. You can either place these on gear (that you or others own), or place them on Enchanting Vellums (sold by Enchanting Goods Suppliers) to create portable, tradable enchantments (note: for low-level characters, this is probably more expensive than it is worth, as the vellums cost a few silver apiece if I recall).