The state of Disc (Re: GC's PvE concerns)

90 Human Priest
The statement that I've heard over and over again from Ghost Crawler (via blue trackers and twitter feeds) over the past month is that discipline priests are overpowered in PvE (and this is why holy priests have switched to discipline, etc.)

I personally find that on the whole the opposite is true, but ONLY if you discount spirit shell, the throughput boost from which is only really a gimmick at the moment, considering that it's going to be disconnected from disc mastery.

So, why am I saying this?

The simple fact is that if I try to compete with other healing classes via direct heals, without using spirit shell or atonement, I end up with pretty serious mana problems pretty fast. (This is not as bad as it was before rapture was fixed, but it's still pretty serious.)

Since I started playing disc as a serious PvE healing spec (beginning of ICC) I've seen a few extremes in discipline's playstyle. During Cataclysm, it was rapture that carried the spec to viability. Early on it was difficult to compete. As the expansion continued, disc became more and more powerful to the point of being overpowered and getting nerfed (primarily because discipline could stack output stats and neglect regen almost entirely.

In one or two of your internal builds I think you need to remove spirit shell and atonement entirely and do a little testing. See how disc stacks up under those circumstances and let that inform your thinking a bit.

My concern is basically that right now my spec is relying on a gimmick (spirit shell) for output and another gimmick (atonement) to remain viable for mana regen.

Blizzard is WELL known for overreacting to OP-ness and nerfing things to the point of unplayability because they don't understand the basic dynamics on which the spec is operating.