Vial of sands: Alchemist on open or making

90 Blood Elf Mage
So my question is a simple one, I've decided to start leveling Archeology for the vial after my friend told me I could make it once i switch to alchemy after i get my gathering alt up, if i keep leveling archeology now and save my jars until I power level alch, will they still have a chance to drop the recipe?

or put briefly. Does the skill check on the drop occur when u make the canopic jar, or when you open it?
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Hunter
Everything I've read has said you need to be an alchemist at the time, in order to get it.
Reply Quote
100 Blood Elf Warlock
I've been doing archeology for a couple of years. I still don't have the recipe. *sigh*

At least I can turn all of my Pandaria solves into Tol'vir fragments. Maybe one day.
Reply Quote
90 Troll Shaman
Definetly check to make sure the cost of premade ones aren't below the cost of making them. A lot of them were made last xpac using (illegally) duped sands, and they were selling below cost for a while. That stock might be gone now but it is worth a look.
Reply Quote
100 Blood Elf Warlock
I purchased Sandstone Drakes for myself and a few friends soon after they came out. I just like collecting recipes. I do still see the mounts for fairly cheap at times however.
Reply Quote
02/02/2013 12:22 PMPosted by Pitkanen
Definetly check to make sure the cost of premade ones aren't below the cost of making them. A lot of them were made last xpac using (illegally) duped sands, and they were selling below cost for a while. That stock might be gone now but it is worth a look.

Yes, check, I got on the buying end of mine (still have it) and bought it off AH for 3k...
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Hunter
You have to be an Alch to find it. You don't have to be the lvl to learn it, just to make it.
Reply Quote
I have an ALC and you need to be one first. I found my vial of the sands in my first jar. I know I suck haha.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Priest