New player looking for Advice on Build/Spec

85 Night Elf Priest
I'm new to wow and decided to roll with a night elf priest but cant find any guides or understandable build for a new player. Any help?
Reply Quote
100 Night Elf Priest
http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/topic/6412411510
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Priest
Hello! Welcome to WoW! :)

At really low levels, you really only need to worry about the following:

1) You are only able to wear Cloth armor as a Priest. You can equip Staves, 1-handed Maces, and Daggers. If you are using a 1-handed Mace or Dagger, you can also equip an Off-hand.

2) You want gear that has Intellect and Spirit on it. If the gear just has Intellect, that's okay, too, but it's generally best not to take items with JUST Spirit on them.

3) You won't get a helm until your mid-20s, and you probably won't get shoulders until you're around 15-20.

4) You will get a spec at level 10. I recommend speccing Disc, because you will have excellent DPS potential, as well as fantastic healing potential.

5) If this is your first WoW character ever, I highly recommend picking up a gathering profession and a raid profession. Gathering professions include Herbalism, Skinning, and Mining. Raid professions include Tailoring (fed by cloth you pick up), Enchanting (fed by Disenchanting Green items you find or create through Tailoring), Leatherworking (fed by Skinning), Alchemy (fed by Herbalism), Inscription (fed by Herbalism), Blacksmithing (fed by Mining), Jewelcrafting (fed by Mining). For a first-time player, I usually recommend Herbalism + Alchemy or Inscription, as those are fairly easy to level, and you can sell your glyphs/items and excess herbs on the auctionhouse. Another good combination is Enchanting and Tailoring, but it can get pricey to level at the higher levels.