beginner tanking tips

78 Worgen Warrior
Hi tank, i'm a newb when it comes to warriors and tanking.

I've played a mage dps and never really cared for levelling other toons really.

Im levelling as prot and soloing is fine. I did a few 5-mans earlier it went OK I guess I had the mobs on me for the most part but I still think I'm having issues.

a) i keep finding myself clicking and i despise that. Why am I clicking as tank!?
b) i never have enough rage! I always find myself shiel slamming, thunder clapping, doing heroic throw (when not on CD) ...sunders are not coming often, i can do 1 then I have to wait 4-5 GCD before I have enough rage again.
c) What are my bread and butter abilities tanking in a 5-mans? Right now i find myself doing this:
Charge, Heroic Throw, Shield Slam, Thunder clap, Sunder...then whatever is off GCD or if I have rage to use a rage ability i'll use that instead...

I never seem to have 60 rage to use shield block..i mean like NEVER! So i really think im doing something wrong..not sure?

I don't see aware of my surrounding as much as I was when Im on my mage..its pissing me off im always looking down at my toolbar cause of all the damn cooldowns! Is that normal?

And I have to confess Im also facerolling on this toon, again something thats unheard of on my mage...please help!
Reply Quote
90 Gnome Warrior
a) I used to be a clicker. What it boils down to is figuring out what your priorities are, and bind those to keys you can easily access. The Shift Key is your friend, and effectively doubles the number of hotkeys you can easily reach with your left hand. It's awkward at first, but after you get used to it, it becomes second nature to hit a key to activate an ability and you barely think about it.