Heirlooms

Since I've been told that this should be put in GD, here it goes.

Why is it that they were introduced in WotLK, with the label "Bind on Account", received so many complaints about not being truly BOA and nothing was done? Blizz went and renamed them to "Binds on Battle.net Account", but many of the same issues still persist.

My wife and I recently started playing again, we've been in game less than a week. Upon our return, we decided that the server that we SoR'd to, wasn't one that we were interested in playing on any more. So, I immediately server xfered my shaman back to my original server with everything he could carry. When I finally logged into my original server, we found that it was dead. Only one of our old guilds even existed any more, and most of those players were re-rolling on a different server and the GM was considering moving the entire guild over.

So now we're in an empty Orgrimmar with none of our friends actively playing there. So, we decided to play on the server that my wife's guild was moving to, and sure enough it's a huge difference, and that's the good news. The bad news is that after two expansions, Blizz still hasn't figured out a way to transfer "Binds on Battle.net Account" gear properly. They say that it works because it can change servers with your character, but character xfers are too expensive for me to do again, let alone me and my wife. Round trip xfers would cost $50 if you just wanted to roll a character with a friend but didn't want to permanently move the character over. We've been told that the idea that this is a cash grab is false, that it's only a coincidence that the $25 fee for character xfer is the only way to move these items. They tell us that they ARE BOA because they move with your character.