Profession Advice Needed After 2-Year Absence

90 Undead Warlock
I just started playing again after a 2 year absence. A lot has changed :)

When I stopped playing, my character's professions were Tailoring (414) and Engineering (384).

My question is, should I change my professions to something that'll allow me to make more gold? The reason I ask, is because it seems like things are quite expensive now. For example, when I went to go train "Master Riding," it was 5000 gold (I only have about 900 gold from when I last played).

So should I switch professions to something more profitable? I feel like I'm "way behind" when it comes to making and having gold and I worry that with my two professions, they'll just be gold sinks, etc. I'd prefer to not have to wait a month to master riding :)

Any advice, suggestions, tips would be great. Logging-in for the first time in years was quite a shock (mostly good) with how things changed. Hopefully you all can help me with what I feel right now is a steep "getting-up-to-speed" curve.

Thanks!
Reply Quote
23 Undead Priest
Yeah the game is better now. No more bags full of unopened clams and soul shards.

Engineering remains (generally) a total money loser. Guns/bows do OK, "cogwheels" (a type of gem) does OK but the market can be murder. Tailoring is pretty good especially if you have classic recipes for good transmog gear. There are a lot of sexy transmog sets that NOBODY is making.
Reply Quote
100 Blood Elf Warlock
You do not need "Master" riding. That's 310% flying speed which isn't that much faster than the 280% that you get when you learn fast (artisan) flying- which isn't necessary either. You do need basic flying and that is fairly inexpensive.

I'm fairly rich and I've only bought master riding for a handful of toons. Most have fast but quite a number will never get beyond the basics.
Reply Quote
85 Goblin Death Knight