PVP Discing

90 Undead Priest
So, I'm new to this whole healing business. I've healed BGs, but that wasn't at 90. I finally hit 90 today, and I'm completely at a loss. It might be my utter lack of gear (NO gear) but I feel like I just have no idea what I'm doing. I just spam PW:S and SS with PoH on everyone. I KNOW I'm doing it wrong, and it wouldn't fly in Arena. So what exactly should I be doing? What should I be prioritizing in stats? And what should I be glyphed/talented into? Please help a struggling new priest out!
Reply Quote
100 Undead Priest
Priests are the worst healers in PVP now .

Our survivabilityis is terrible (we rely on fear which everyone is immune to)

Our single target healing spells is garbage compared to other healing classes.

We do have very good AOE healing though , If you can survive 10seconds.

Priests are broken roll a Hpally or Shaman if you want to heal.
Edited by Insulin on 2/10/2013 10:01 PM PST
Reply Quote
So it's evident the priest above is struggling with survivability. That is not a problem shared by many priests, provided they know exactly what they're doing when it comes to opening up room to heal, and that they have competent partners.

Think about disc healing like this:

You put up a shield. The shield is good. Everything revolves around your shield. Once they're shielded, are they not at full HP? Get them up to full HP with Flash Heal if you can, or instants if you need.

You also want Renew on your target, try to find a spare global once they're safe to put Renew on them. Use Renew on any target taking/possibly taking damage.

In between shields, you'll want other instant spells. Cast if you can cast, but if you can't immediately cast, fall back on your instants. In PvP, think of Penance as your instant (plus how ever much casting you can afford), and Prayer of Mending as your other instant. You will use these when you don't want to stop and cast.