Maximizing my DK's usefulness

66 Blood Elf Death Knight
I'm a newer player that came to WoW to primarily play the Death Knight class. However, after 11 levels of playing, I'm starting to wonder if I'm not doing something right with it...

I run Frost/Blood dual spec, and queue dungeons for DPS only (as I'm not experienced enough to try my hand at any heavy tanking.) That's so I can quickly switch between DPS and Tank, in the event that our queue'd tank has trouble.

When in DPS mode, I've noticed that my DPS is... Well... Extremely low. In order to do any keeping up, I'm burning through runes like nobody's business. Blood Boil does a decent enough amount of damage to groups, and my Frost AoE does a fair amount, but far less than Blood Boil. I've been using 2H weaps since I started the class (right now, I'm on a polearm I picked up from a dungeon boss) with an Item Level average of 82 (I think. I know it's in the low 80's. Which will bring me to another question later on.) Which, means my attack speed is crap, forcing me to rely on runes to do any quick damage.

Not like my average hit is anything to brag about. It's actually quite low. A normal strike, for me, averages out at about 450 per hit. Since it takes my toon 2-3 seconds to swing his weapon, that drops my normal hit DPS down to between 150 and 225.

So, onto my questions:

1. When in DPS mode, what weapon setup should I have, so I don't have to continually rely on runes to not be so nubsauce? Should I continue to rock out with the 2H weapons, or should I look into something else? Such as dual-wielding (if that's even possible with this class) or 1H+shield (again, if possible with this class?)
2. I know I should focus on Strength as a melee DPS, but a lot of my gear also focuses on Stamina (which is, I suppose, common for Plate gear.) How can I maximize my Strength stat?