Blizzard contradicting Night elf lore again?

100 Human Warrior
So, as a player from WC3 and Vanilla, I had always been under the impression that wisps were Night elven spirits. This of course was backed by instances like the NE racial in the game. Then, for some reason or another I was looking up the NE artifacts from archaeology and I took a look at the description of the wisp amulet. On the wisp amulet, it says that wisps were once thought to be spirits of the Night elven dead. But they're actually just nature spirits that help the Night elves. Okay, I didn't think anything of this at first, until I saw an NE die and turn into a wisp, and remembered they have that racial (I have an NE, so this is embarrassing for me. Shows how much I pay attention), so that amulet doesn't make a lick of sense now.

How can they merely be nature spirits when we know when Night elves die they turn into wisps?
Reply Quote
58 Undead Death Knight
"This beautiful amulet is formed of loops and angles of bright golds, framing a large tear-drop emerald. Within the depths of the emerald you can see a small glowing sphere with a vaguely night elf face. The sphere seems to move about within the emerald, not trapped exactly as much as flitting about like an insect."

"Wisps are nature spirits thought to be dead night elves. They exist in tight connection with their forest homeland and night elves in general, performing such beneficial activities as construction, repair and defense of elven communities. Many wisps sacrificed themselves in order to defeat Archimonde at the end of the Third War, so there are fewer wisps today than there once were."

This is what wowpedia is telling me the amulet says, and I'm not seeing the contradiction.

\(0.o)/
Reply Quote
100 Human Warrior
Oh, my mistake. I must have been groggy and misread. Disregard the thread then.
Reply Quote
58 Undead Death Knight